I read the article in the New York Times, Support Appears to Drop in Abortion Rights, by Laurie Goodstein. I know, that as teenagers, we like our opinions out in the open. We like our intent and our reasons to be clear, and more than anything, it seems that we want people to agree with us.
Last year when the election was taking place, a lot of arguing was going on. I think that is because we are teenagers, our hormones get the best of us, and we just can’t seem to accept the fact that not everyone will accept our opinions. When the debate was going on, I was very convinced that I was a democrat. While I still do believe I am a democrat, I take into consideration all of the policies our presidents have. I am WAY more careful than other students about what I say! I didn’t realize until last year how heated those arguments get from people who don’t even vote yet! While I like to air my opinions, I don’t like to get into arguments with people I see every day. I think we like to hear that other people (usually the ones who are for the same party) like to hear what we have to say. I have re- written this paragraph about three times already, trying to figure out what I should say. Should I go into why I like Obama? Why I don’t like McCain? I decided against it. After all, how much do I know about either of them? I got to know a lot about their policies last year… I am glad to say that I got VERY involved in the election last year. Back to the main topic! See what I mean? It’s so hard to stay on one factor when it has to do with politics! Anyways, I am a pro- abortionist. If that’s even a word… What I want to know, is why people only semi- agree with abortion. Why is it ONLY if the mother is in danger, or if she was raped? What about us teenagers? We all make stupid mistakes, and I doubt that it would be a wise choice, even if we think we are in love and going to spend the rest of our lives with someone, to have a baby at this age. Shouldn’t we have the right to NOT have the baby? I know, we can give it to a firehouse or hospital, or adoption, but who wants to go through being a pregnant teenager? I’m not talking about physically, though that is something to take into consideration, but I’m talking about the stares we get, or not having people look at our face when they talk to us, but our stomachs. I’m not saying I wouldn’t keep it, but would I stay at Arapahoe? With all my friends? I read the Littleton Newspaper, and it interviewed a girl who went to Arapahoe, got pregnant, and was practically kicked out. I’m sure that Arapahoe wouldn’t forcefully remove her, but that they would “strongly urge her” to go to a school for “girls like her.” Is Arapahoe accepting girls who are pregnant? And what about the guy? He can just waltz around, like he did nothing wrong, but the girl has the evidence everywhere/ anywhere she goes… Where’s the justice? I believe that a girl has a right to an abortion, but I VERY STRONGLY believe that she has a right to show up at school, just as much as anyone else.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Even though I am against abortion, I agree with you about how teenage girls get so many rude looks and how people only judge them because they are pregnant. I also believe even though a girl is pregnant she should still be able to go to school and get an education.
ReplyDeleteYou did a very good job about not going over to republican or democrat sides and staying just about inbetween the two. You also did a very good job about having a voice and stating what you strongly believe in. Awesome job! I loved your blog!